MENU
BACK

THE STORY

Melt is a meeting of two solar energies that whisk you away to a universe of elegance both powerful and gentle: Emma Garcin and Jeanne Biehn.

They are never far apart, animated by their joint wish to support artisan weavers and dyers and to reinvent the use of ancestral techniques. The result is a range of Winter and Summer scarves and fashion accessories, and, occasionally, pieces for the home and ready-to-wear.
The range is constantly increasing thanks to the creativity of the collections produced in Nepal and Morocco. Each piece is unique as hands guide the machines, weave and dye. Each piece bears the name of the person who inspired it or the artisan who made it.

Melt is a creative family that grows with each season, each member appreciating the other, and a family that loves to congregate in the Paris showroom as though it were a living room – here you’ll find artisans from Kathmandu and Fez, photographers who conjure up exclusive new images for each season, models, both professional and amateur, who come from all over, and a loyal tribe of buyers.

THE ARTISANS

In the workshop in Kathmandu, Nepal, all the pieces are woven by hand on traditional wooden looms. Following the tradition of the weavers of Darjeeling, handed down from father to son, each piece of cloth, warp and weft, twill, chevrons or diamonds, has no other quite like it. Cashmere, silk, yak and camel hair can be mixed together to vary the weight and softness, according to the season.

The dyes are all artisanal, too, and produce charming, one-of-a-kind tie-dye effects that vary subtly from one dye-bath to another. The final colour is decided by the artisan and how he views the intensity of the colour, helped along by Mother Nature and the prevailing weather conditions.

In Fez, Morocco, skins are chosen one by one with help from the tanners to select the softest and most supple leather. Here, too, the ancient dying process reflects deep knowledge.

MENU
BACK

HISTOIRE

Melt, c’est la réunion de deux énergies solaires qui vous emmènent avec force dans un univers d’élégance, de puissance et de douceur à la fois : Emma Garcin et Jeanne Biehn.

Elles ne sont jamais loin l’une de l’autre, animées, par l’envie commune de supporter l’artisanat du tissage et de la coloration en re inventant l’ usage de techniques ancestrales de réalisation à travers des collections Eté et Hiver, d’écharpes et d’accessoires de mode, mais aussi ponctuellement de pièces pour la maison ou de prêt à porter.

L’inventivité des collections, réalisées entre le Népal et le Maroc, pousse constamment à agrandir sa collection. Chaque pièce est différente car ce sont des mains qui guident les machines, qui tissent, qui colorent. Chaque pièce porte le nom de la personne qui l’a inspirée ou l’artisan qui la réalisée.

Melt, c’est une famille créative qui s’agrandit chaque saison, se reconnait entre eux et aime se retrouver dans leur showroom parisien pensé comme un salon : ce sont les artisans de Katmandu ou de Fez, des photographes qui proposent des images chaque saison faites sur-mesure pour la marque, des modèles professionnels ou non venant de toutes les origines, des acheteurs loyaux comme une tribu.

ARTISANAT

Dans leur atelier du Népal, à Katmandu, toutes les pièces sont tissées à la main sur des métiers à tisser traditionnels en bois.

C’est selon la tradition des tisseurs de Darjeeling, transmise de père en fils, que chaque tissage, chaine et trame, twill, chevrons, diamant… a nul autre pareil. Ce sont des matières vivantes, variant au grès de leur nature et du tisseur. Cachemire, soie, yak, camel s’entremêlent et varient l’épaisseur, la douceur pour épouser le grès des saisons.

Les teintures sont toutes aussi artisanales produisant des tie and dye unique et suave qui varient subtilement d’un bain à l’autre. C’est suivant l’appréciation subjective que l’artisan se fait de l’intensité de la couleur avec, l’aide de mère nature et son humidité ambiante, que la couleur finale se décide.

Au Maroc, à Fez, le choix des peaux se fait auprès des tanneurs, une à une, pour le plus de douceur et de souplesse possible. La teinture, ici, reflète également le processus ancestral d’un savoir-faire exceptionnel.